User Tools

Site Tools


faq:email:how_to_disable_emails_being_deleted_from_server_pop3

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
faq:email:how_to_disable_emails_being_deleted_from_server_pop3 [2015/11/12 15:28]
vikki [Mozilla Thunderbird]
faq:email:how_to_disable_emails_being_deleted_from_server_pop3 [2015/11/12 15:34] (current)
vikki
Line 1: Line 1:
-====== How to disable ​emails being deleted from server (POP3) ======+====== How to prevent ​emails ​from being deleted from server (POP3) ======
  
 When you are using a mail client like Ms Outlook to access your emails via POP3, you may not want to delete the emails from the server for some reasons like, you are also accessing those emails from your phone using IMAP (and you don't want to miss any emails that are downloaded to the mail client and deleted from the server!). When you are using a mail client like Ms Outlook to access your emails via POP3, you may not want to delete the emails from the server for some reasons like, you are also accessing those emails from your phone using IMAP (and you don't want to miss any emails that are downloaded to the mail client and deleted from the server!).
Line 9: Line 9:
   - Go to **File** -> **Info** -> **Account Settings**.   - Go to **File** -> **Info** -> **Account Settings**.
   - Select **More Settings**.   - Select **More Settings**.
-  - Click on the **Advanced** tab.+  - On the properties window, click on the **Advanced** tab.
   - Check the checkbox: "Leave a copy of messages on the server"​.   - Check the checkbox: "Leave a copy of messages on the server"​.
  
-You can choose to remove the emails after a certain number of days or when deleted from "​Deleted Items"​.+You can choose to remove the emails after a certain number of days or when deleted from "​Deleted Items".\\ 
 +If you wish to leave messages in the server without deleting them, just uncheck both "​Remove from server after n days" and "​Remove from server after deleted from "​Deleted Items"".
  
 ----- -----
 +
 ==== Windows Live Mail ===== ==== Windows Live Mail =====
  
Line 22: Line 24:
   - Check the "Leave a copy of messages on server"​ checkbox.   - Check the "Leave a copy of messages on server"​ checkbox.
  
-You have the option to remove the emails from the server after a specified number of days, or remove them when they are deleted from "​Deleted Items"​.+You have the option to remove the emails from the server after a specified number of days, or remove them when they are deleted from "​Deleted Items".\\ 
 +If you wish to leave messages in the server without deleting them, just uncheck both "​Remove from server after n days" and "​Remove from server after deleted from "​Deleted Items"".
  
 ----- -----
Line 31: Line 34:
   - Check the checkbox: "Leave messages on server"​.   - Check the checkbox: "Leave messages on server"​.
  
-You may also check to delete the mails after certain number of days, or delete them once they are deleted or moved from Inbox. If you do not want any emails being removed from the server, just uncheck both "For at most n days" and "Until I delete or move them from Inbox"​.+You may also check to delete the mails after certain number of days, or delete them once they are deleted or moved from Inbox.\\ 
 +If you do not want any emails being removed from the server, just uncheck both "For at most n days" and "Until I delete or move them from Inbox"​.
  
 ----- -----
 +
 ==== Apple Mail ===== ==== Apple Mail =====
   - Go to **Mail** -> **Preferences**.\\ {{:​faq:​email:​leave_msg-macmail01.png|}}   - Go to **Mail** -> **Preferences**.\\ {{:​faq:​email:​leave_msg-macmail01.png|}}
   - Go to the **Advanced** tab.   - Go to the **Advanced** tab.
   - Uncheck "​Remove copy from server after retrieving a message"​.\\ {{:​faq:​email:​leave_msg-macmail02.png|}}   - Uncheck "​Remove copy from server after retrieving a message"​.\\ {{:​faq:​email:​leave_msg-macmail02.png|}}
 +
 Or, alternatively,​ you can set to remove the emails after a week or a month, depending on your mailbox size. Or, alternatively,​ you can set to remove the emails after a week or a month, depending on your mailbox size.
 +
 +-----
 +
 +==== Outlook Express =====
 +  - Click **Tools** -> **Accounts...** from the menu bar.
 +  - Select your email address and click **Properties**.
 +  - On the properties window, click on the **Advanced** tab.
 +  - Check the checkbox: "Leave a copy of messages on the server"​.
 +
 +You can choose to remove the emails after a certain number of days or when deleted from "​Deleted Items"​.\\
 +If you wish to leave messages in the server without deleting them, just uncheck both "​Remove from server after n days" and "​Remove from server after deleted from "​Deleted Items""​.
faq/email/how_to_disable_emails_being_deleted_from_server_pop3.txt · Last modified: 2015/11/12 15:34 by vikki