User Tools

Site Tools


faq:storage:the_security_features_on_afteroffice_storage

The Security Features on AfterOffice Storage


AfterOffice Storage provides Encryption/Decryption functions and anti-virus scanning to enhance the security and privacy of your files.

Encrypt files on Storage Center

  1. Select the files that you wish to encrypt.
  2. Select the Encrypt option.
  3. Key in the passphrase to encrypt the files. Repeat it.
    Note: you must remember the passphrase to decrypt the files later.
  4. Check the checkbox “Delete original file immediately after successful encryption” if you do not wish to keep the original file after encryption.
    Otherwise, uncheck it.
  5. Click OK.

Decrypt files on Storage Center

  1. Select the file that you wish to decrypt.
  2. Select the Decrypt option.
  3. Key in the passphrase to decrypt the file.
  4. Check the checkbox “Delete encrypted file immediately after successful decryption” if you do not wish to keep the encrypted file after decryption.
    Otherwise, uncheck it.
  5. Click OK.

Encrypt files on StorageSync

You can also encrypt files on your computer using StorageSync's Encrypt Tool before uploading them to the cloud.

  1. Select Tools > File Encrypt.
  2. Browse for the files you wish to encrypt.
  3. Key in the password to encrypt the files. Repeat it.
    Note: you must remember the password to decrypt the files later.
  4. Check the checkbox “Delete the original file” if you wish to delete the original files after successful encryption.
  5. Click Encrypt.

You can encrypt and compress a copy of local file before uploading/backing up the files to the server. This feature is available on the Options Settings tab of StorageSync, where you can check the checkbox “Encrypt & compress remote files (*.enc)“ and key in the password that encrypts it.
Note: you must remember the password to decrypt the files later.

Decrypt files on StorageSync

You can decrypt the encrypted files using StorageSync's Decrypt Tool after downloading them to your computer.

  1. Select Tools > File Decrypt.
  2. Browse for the encrypted files you wish to decrypt.
  3. Key in the password to decrypt the files.
  4. Check the checkbox “Delete the Encrypted file” if you wish to delete the encrypted files after successful encryption.
  5. Click Decrypt.

Anti-virus scanning on Storage Center

When you upload files on Storage Center, the checkbox “Scan files for viruses” is selected by default. During file upload, files that are infected will be flagged as error during the transfer. No files will be deleted.
This feature is by no means a replacement for your computer's anti-virus software, but a security measurement on Storage Center to prevent virus files from spreading among all sharing them.

Anti-virus scanning on StorageSync

On the Options settings tab on StorageSync, the checkbox “Anti-virus scan” is selected by default. When being transferred to the cloud, files that are infected will be flagged as error during the transfer. No files will be deleted.
This feature is by no means a replacement for your computer's anti-virus software, but a security measurement on Storage to prevent virus files from spreading among all sharing them.

faq/storage/the_security_features_on_afteroffice_storage.txt · Last modified: 2015/07/29 12:38 by vikki